Reports Help

Making your Views/Workspace Public

In SkyDesk Reports you can share your data, reports and dashboards to public users. Any remote user can access your public views online without logging into SkyDesk Reports, i.e. they need not have an account created in SkyDesk Reports to access the public views. You can also grant selected permissions like Read, Export or View Underlying Data, on the view shared, to the public users.

Making Selected Views Public

To make Views in a workspace public you can use one of the following options:

  • From Explorer tab of the workspace, select the views that need to be made public and invoke the Share -> Make Views/DB Public option in the toolbar
  • Open the corresponding view that needs to be made public and invoke the Share -> Make this View Public option in the toolbar

A dialog box appears as shown below

You can grant the required Read permissions by clicking on the check box next to each permission provided under Read Options group. The following table describes the permissions that could be granted.

Read Access Provides Read access to the public users for the view(s) selected Permission applicable to All Views
Export Data Provides Export permission to the view(s) selected. Public users can export the view as CSV, PDF, HTML or Image based on the view type. Permission applicable to All Views
View Underlying Data For Reports and Dashboards providing this permission will allow public users to access the data underlying the view. This option will be available in the toolbar of the view.
You can also click on specific points in the report to view the underlying data corresponding to that point in the report.
Permission applicable only for Reports and Dashboards

Optionally, you can make your workspace available in the SkyDesk Reports Public Workspaces page, where any SkyDesk Reports user can publish their workspace. To do so, select the option next to List this workspace in SkyDesk Reports Public Workspaces page.

Caution: If you publish your workspace in the SkyDesk Reports Public Workspaces page, then it will allow Internet search engines like Google, Bing, Yahoo etc., to crawl & index the contents and show them as part of their search results. Please exercise caution and be very sure you understand the impact before using this option.
Any user (public user) will be able to access the views made public in this workspace using the link provided under 'Access link for the public views (made public using "Make Public" option) in this workspace' when you click Make Public button. You can also share this link to users, whom you want to access these public views without logging into SkyDesk Reports.

Editing Public Sharing

To edit existing public sharing permissions provided to views in your workspace, from Explorer tab of the workspace, invoke the Share -> Edit Public Permissions for DB option in the toolbar. A dialog box appears as shown below


The dialog box lists all the Views/Tables/Dashboards shared by you and other workspace owners as shown in the above figure. You can edit/delete the granted permissions using the corresponding options provided. You can also delete all the views made public by clicking on the Remove Public Sharing link at the top.
To remove a particular view from public sharing, open the corresponding view and invoke Share -> Make this View Private in the tool bar.
Select the option List this workspace in SkyDesk Reports Public Workspaces page, if you want to make your workspace available at SkyDesk Reports Public Workspaces page.

Caution: If you publish your workspace in the SkyDesk Reports Public Workspaces page, then it will allow Internet search engines like Google, Bing, Yahoo etc., to crawl & index the contents and show them as part of their search results. Ensure that you understand the impact before using this option.

Click Close to complete the process.

Note:

  • If the administrator deletes a workspace owner, then all the views that were made public by the workspace owner in that workspace will be removed from public sharing.

Top